#166–Headgear fashionista . . .

 

There are many possibilities for covering your head when hair is no longer an option. Yep, all my hair disappeared during the second cycle. Besides not being my favorite look, a bald head is cold and it’s winter in the Pacific Northwest. Not a good combination!

So here are some of my new looks thanks to the knitting skill of my neighbor, Hope, shopping with my sister in Old Town before she left, and a couple of caps that I found at the Victorian Belles Holiday Craft Sale.

Favorite nightcap and works as an around-the-house head and neck warmer.

Favorite nightcap and the combo works as an around-the-house head and neck warmer.

In a previous post I mentioned my new cap that I now wear at night that fits nice and snug. During the day I can wear the matching cowling that Hope knitted to go with it that keeps my neck warm––sort of my around-the-house ensemble look.

 

 

 

 

 

Now my wig won't blow away!

Now my wig won’t blow away!

In Florence, we can have terrific wind. I fear my wig blowing off––sort of every wig-wearer’s worst nightmare. On those days, I can wear this gray headband with its marvelous decoration that I found in a shop in Old Town and not worry.

 

 

 

 

A favorite that also won't blow away in the wind.

A favorite that also won’t blow away in the wind.

I can also wear this felt hat with its flower pattern. It won’t blow off either because it fits quite snug. This is an absolute favorite. I plan to wear it when my hair comes back. Who knew, I’d find something for on my head at On Your Feet in Old Town!

 

 

When I went to my third session of chemo this past Wednesday, I wore this knitted cap that I got in a shop in Old Town. I just love it! I feel like I’m dressed as a 1920’s flapper, and it puts me in a good mood. I found that it also generates lots of comments and smiles from others.

 

I love this and feel like I'm a 1920's flapper!

I love this and feel like I’m a 1920’s flapper!

I love my wig, but when I have to lean back against something, it’s not comfortable because it’s scratchy on my neck. That’s when a nice soft knitted cap works better. The only problem with the pink one is that it’s made of wool, which causes my forehead to itch. I solved that problem by wearing a snug-fitting stocking cap under it that is not made of wool.

 

I got that snug fitting cap at the Victorian Belles sale. It is my new favorite for wearing around the house and works well for wearing under more than one  of my headgear.

 

My new favorite for inside wear and under some hats.

My new favorite for inside wear and to use under some hats.

I find that I have limited energy and need to rest from time to time. As I go through each chemo cycle my energy gets more and more limited for a two-week period before it starts coming back. During my rest breaks, I lie back in a recliner, which means leaning my head back, which means no wig. That’s when these soft knitted caps come in sooo handy.

 

 

Just a little too big for me!

Just a little too big!

 

At the Victorian Belles sale, I fell in love with a crocheted hat that I didn’t realize was too big until I got home.

 

 

 

 

Snug knitted cap to the rescue!

Snug knitted cap to the rescue!

Not to fear––my brown snug-fitted cap to the rescue once again. We had a few days where the temps were down and the wind was whipping around sucking the heat right out of the house. This hat felt mighty good both inside and out.

 

 

 

Since Christmas is fast approaching, I’ll include a couple of Christmas shots. I got my tree up the day after Thanksgiving. The only items I collect are Christmas ornaments—from 22 years of students, from trips I took during my 21 years traveling and doing stories for Oregon Coast and Northwest Travel magazines, my trips to the U.K. and Europe, and from friends and family.

Sir Groucho thinks he's a present.

Sir Groucho thinks he’s a present.

It took me all day to decorate it, but it’s something I look forward to all year and I’ll enjoy it every moment until New Year’s Day when I’ll take it down. . . . Notice Sir Groucho in his role as Christmas present. He loves to scratch his neck on the lower branches. I hope he confines himself to that and doesn’t discover what great toys all those ornaments could make.

 

I wish everyone a wonderful holiday season!

 

A tree full of favorite ornaments!

A tree full of favorite ornaments!

 

Note: All headgear photos are thanks to my neighbor Hope who came over for a “photo shoot” yesterday.

About crossingsauthor

Freelance writer/editor and author of Crossings: McCullough's Coastal Bridges, The Crossings Guide to Oregon's Coastal Spans, and Around Florence. Spent 22 years teaching 1st and 2nd grades and 21 years as editor/staff writer with Oregon Coast and Northwest Travel magazines.
This entry was posted in Adventures with Chemo and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to #166–Headgear fashionista . . .

  1. Evelyn says:

    Love the hats, Judy! You are a shining example of “When life hands you lemons…” They’re all so pretty, it’s hard to choose a favorite, but I think the Flapper is definitely a #1 contender.

    Your tree is beautiful. Especially the furry black-and-white “present” keeping guard. I remember years ago when I got 2 kittens as a Christmas present (NOT my idea!) & had to keep a constant eye open. If I remember correctly, they knocked the tree over just once. Now that I’m living full-time in my travel trailer with no room for a tree, I’m seriously considering decorating the rhody bush right outside. 🙂

    Have a very happy holiday; I’ll be thinking of you!

    • Judy Fleagle says:

      I always enjoy your responses! Last year when I was away at Christmas for two weeks with a tree and a cat in the house together with only visitors to spend a part of each day with him, Sir Groucho did knock off a few ornaments that i found in various parts of the living room. I was relieved it was only a few. I love the flapper and the felt hat as well as the headband.

  2. Judy Fleagle says:

    Thanks, Phyllis. This was great fun to put together yesterday. I am blessed with good, supportive friends from far and near–including you!

  3. Beth Collins says:

    Love all the photos and reading your post as always. You have such a great attitude. I need that right now…. a good attitude. I’m back in Knoxville, TN; stuck in a sense. I had a car accident while driving a friend’s car the Thursday before Thanksgiving. I’m thankful that it wasn’t too bad although my friend’s car was totaled. I have whiplash from my head to my hips. So my days are now filled with doctors and physical therapy. Whiplash on top of fibromyalgia is not a good combination!

    • Judy Fleagle says:

      Ah, Beth! I’m so sorry! You will continue to be in my thoughts and prayers. So maybe you should lay low, whip the whiplash, and just don’t drive for awhile. Maybe somebody somewhere is saying to just stay put for awhile.

  4. Phyllis Bright says:

    What a fantastic hat modeling show! I saw some hats, caps and scarves yesterday and thought of you. None of them were as colorful as the ones you already have though. You’re looking good Judy and always love your smile. You are an inspiration for everyone.

Comments are closed.