#112–Good news on all fronts . . .

These daylillies show how I feel this week.

These daylillies show how I feel this week.

Life is like a roller coaster––some weeks are up and some are down. Fortunately, this was an up week on all fronts.

Florence Festival of Books (FFOB)

When my neighbor, who is an editor I worked with at Oregon Coast magazine, called the other day and needed info on the FFOB, I attached a recent press release and photos, thinking she might use a part of it. Well, I was pleased to see that she used the whole news release plus a photo of my book on the page where we had bought an ad.

Turn to page 22 to see the article, photo of The Crossings Guide, and the FFOB ad.

Turn to page 22 to see the article, photo of The Crossings Guide, and the FFOB ad.

That same day, I had an email from Jo Schrechter at the NW Boomer and Senior News that FFOB will have a front-page story long enough to continue inside. I was thrilled. So check out both of these publications’ September issues. The Boomer News is a freebie found at libraries, senior centers, etc. Oregon Coast is at libraries and wherever magazines are sold.

New this year at FFOB is the Readers’ Corner where 18 authors will be reading out loud from their books. We will have the schedule posted in the newspaper beforehand and on this blog.

Also new and just confirmed this past week will be three classes the day before taught by experienced writers. Here is the blurb I sent to all authors/publishers who have signed up to attend so far:

This year––not a part of the FFOB but held in conjunction with it––three classes are being taught the day before on September 27. Each class is $25 ($30 at the door) and lasts 1-1/2 hours and is held at Port Hole Publications (179 Laurel St., Laurel Crossings bldg, Old Town, Florence). 

Class instructors:

•  Karen Nichols, well-known Florence artist of various media and author of two novels, teaches How to Get Started on Your Book at 2 p.m.

•  Ellen Traylor, author of 21 books and owner of Port Hole Publications that has published the works of more than a dozen authors, teaches Self-Editing and Style at 4 p.m. 

•  Dr. Veronica Esagui, chiropractic physician, author, interviewer on TV’s Author’s Forum in the Portland area, and the moving force behind the NW Book Festival in Portland’s Pioneer Square and the Northwest Writers & Publishers Association, teaches about How to Promote Your Own Book at 7 p.m. 

For more info and to sign up, contact Ellen Traylor at porthole@centurytel.net.

Arcadia Book

These are just some of the photos of Ron Hogeland that I may use in the book.

These are just some of the photos from Ron Hogeland that I may use in the book.

Earlier this week I met with Ron Hogeland, who was instrumental in the rebirth of Old Town in the 1980s. He has written a delightful book called Joshua’s Mermaid that profiled many of the characters who populated Old Town before its transition. He had an absolute treasure trove of photos that he has made available for me to use in my history of Florence book. Soooo pleased!!

Because I had to concentrate so much on FFOB stuff most of this week, I was able to put a little distance between me and my frustrations regarding my Arcadia Book project. Perhaps it was being away from it, getting a better perspective. Perhaps it was getting such a wonderful influx of photos. Whatever, I had a brainstorm in the middle of the night that survived the light of day. It will cost me money, but it will be worth it.

I will hire someone to help me. This someone I know and trust and he has the ability––in spades––and the equipment to handle the scanning of photos for the book. And he’s just become available. One of his jobs has a down cycle where he has a few months with some spare time. As of last Tuesday, he entered that downtime. So the timing is perfect. I called him, and he’s willing. We’ll meet next Tuesday. Once I’d called him, I emailed my Arcadia editor and requested a week delay in getting the photos and edit in for Chapters 1 and 2. Nothing like making a decision to relieve the uncertainty and frustration that had weighed me down these past few weeks.

Siuslaw River Bridge Interpretive Wayside

This is the view from where the signs about the bridge and McCullough will be.

This is the view from where the signs about the bridge and McCullough will be located.

I received a call a week or so ago to meet Sean Penrod, with the Florence Public Works Department, regarding help in filling in the info on the signage for the two signs dealing with the bridge at the new Siuslaw River Bridge Interpretive Wayside. I am pleased that they are asking for my input. It’s always so appalling as well as ironic to read incorrect informative signs. At least the info in these should be correct.

During the week, I gave it some thought and got up early yesterday and wrote up eight points that I thought were important regarding the bridge and five about the bridge designer Conde B. McCullough.

I met with Sean yesterday at 10 a.m. and this was exactly what he wanted. At times during our conversation, I got out Crossings to help explain certain points.

Cherry tomatoes have been ripening the past couple of weeks, but now . . .

Cherry tomatoes have been ripening the past couple of weeks, but now . . .

As I headed for my car, he headed across the street to Books ‘N’ Bears to buy a copy. When Crossings was first finished, Dick Smith and I presented a copy to the mayor at a city council meeting. Now Public Works will have their own copy.

***

Notice the slight reddening of the top two larger non-cherry tomatoes. Can hardly wait!

 . . . the larger tomatoes are starting to turn red. Notice the slight reddening of the top two. Can hardly wait!

To top off the week, some of my green tomatoes started turning red! Life is good!

About crossingsauthor

Freelance writer/editor and author of Crossings: McCullough's Coastal Bridges, The Crossings Guide to Oregon's Coastal Spans, and Around Florence. Spent 22 years teaching 1st and 2nd grades and 21 years as editor/staff writer with Oregon Coast and Northwest Travel magazines.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to #112–Good news on all fronts . . .

  1. Donald Meyer says:

    Would one say that the tomatoes were the icing on the cake?

Comments are closed.