#86–Judy’s wonderful, incredible, so good, not too bad day . . .

It was a day to remember––January 17 !  To begin with, it was blue-sky beautiful. We’ve had two weeks of fabulous weather with cold nights but days that reached into the mid-60s with no afternoon wind. For January, it was glorious.

So on Wednesday, January 16, I called everyone from Sea Lion Caves up to Lincoln City to let them know my new book The Crossings Guide to Oregon’s Coastal Spans was finally available. I called all bookstores, museums, libraries, and tourist hot spots that carry Crossings: McCullough’s Coastal Bridges, figuring that they would also be interested in the new guide. Hey, it’s bridges! To me, it’s a no-brainer, but, of course, I’m prejudiced.

I also stopped by the Pacific Publishing office and signed more books and loaded them in the car.

This major tourist attraction now carries both of my books! The first time I visited, I was about seven, and we walked down the rickety stairs.

This major attraction now carries both of my books! The first time I visited, I was seven, and we walked down rickety stairs, which were replaced decades ago with an elevator.

After packing a lunch and loading an audiobook, I took off about 9:30 in the morning. My first stop was Sea Lion Caves. Dara wasn’t too unhappy to take a break from doing inventory. She took 12 books.

On to Yachats. The ocean was blue and gorgeous. Mari’s took five. They nearly always take some. Bob Welch, author and columnist for The Register-Guard, turned me onto this delightful little bookstore run by two sisters. I’ve never been sorry.

Waldport is a small town but big on my books, I left three at Well-Read Books, one at the library, and three of each of my books at the Historic Alsea Bay Bridge Interpretive Center that is run by the Waldport Chamber of Commerce. This is a must stop for any bridge or McCullough aficionado. Every major coastal bridge has a picture and information in a major display on the wall, there’s a model of the original Alsea Bay Bridge, a film about the construction of the new one, and a re-creation of McCullough’s office. In addition, there’s the best transportation timeline I’ve ever seen and much more. All in all, a terrific place! I’m so pleased to have my books front and center on the counter.

The Burrows House Museum is home to the Lincoln County Historical Society, who carry both of my books.

The Burrows House Museum is home to the Lincoln County Historical Society that carries both of my books.

Newport, home to the beautiful Yaquina Bay Bridge that graces the cover of The Crossings Guide, had five venues take the book. Canyonway Restaurant & Bookstore took one; Roguey always take one of whatever I’m selling each time I stop by. The Lincoln County Historical Society took five and the Newport Public Library took one. Both have carried Crossings since the beginning.

A great place to find books and it's in the middle of historic Nye Beach.

A great place to find books and it’s in the middle of historic Nye Beach.

Nye Beach Book House only half a block from the Sylvia Beach Hotel smack in the middle of Nye Beach took five. Newport author Matt Love told me about this bookstore and, again, I’ve never been sorry.

North of town the interpretive center at Yaquina Head took 12.  Yaquina Head Outstanding Natural Area is home to the Yaquina Head Lighthouse, an interpretive center that covers the natural and cultural history of the area as well as the lighthouses, hiking trails, and a wheelchair accessible tidepool area. It’s one of the major tourist attractions on the coast.

The interpretive center at Yaquina Head offers natural, cultural, and lighthouse history.

The interpretive center at Yaquina Head offers natural, cultural, and lighthouse history.

Since I was getting a bit hungry with all the bookselling, I parked close to the lighthouse and walked to a bench with a great ocean view, and ate my lunch. It had turned into a need-no-jacket, sit- in-the-sun day.

At 93-feet tall, it's the tallest lighthouse on the coast. It's on a point of land that juts out into the ocean--north of Newport.

At 93-feet tall, it’s the tallest lighthouse on the coast. It’s on a point of land that juts out into the ocean–north of Newport.

Next was Gleneden Beach. In the Salishan Shops is Allegory, a bookstore that also has a great assortment of games, puzzles, cards, etc. A delightful place, and no matter who’s on duty, there’s a dog helping out. Allegory took five.

In Lincoln City, Diana of Bob’s Beach Books who took Crossings right from the get-go, also took six copies of The Crossings Guide.  And the Driftwood Library took one; this is the main public library in town.

Then I headed home. It had been a long day. I watched the sunset and beautiful colors that followed as I headed down the coast back to Florence. As it darkened, the lights of the crab boats on the horizon added the perfect touch. What a great ending to my wonderful, incredible, very good, not too bad day.

Note: Sold 61 books! Best book sales day ever.

To buy CROSSINGS:

 Crossings Cover

Crossings: McCullough’s Coastal Bridges, which gives equal coverage to the building of Highway 101, the career of Conde B. McCullough, and the exciting path to funding of the five major coastal bridges as well as covering in detail the building of those bridges, can be yours for $24.95 plus $4.99 shipping. Order from Pacific Publishing athttp://www.connectflorence.com or pacpub@oregonfast.net or through me at judyfleagle@gmail.com. It is also available on the coast in bookstores, museums, and gift shops; in Eugene at the airport, the historical museum, and several bookstores; in Portland at Powell’s and the Oregon Historical Society; in Made in Oregon stores throughout the state; and more and more bookstores, libraries, and museums in western Oregon. This book makes a good coffee-table book.

To buy THE CROSSINGS GUIDE:

The Crossings Guide cover

The second book The Crossings Guide to Oregon’s Coastal Spans takes the reader bridge by bridge down the Oregon Coast, covering 15 of the most impressive spans and has at least one color and one historic photo for each one. The cost is $15 plus shipping. This new book can also be ordered through Pacific Publishing or me through judyfleagle@gmail.com. It is many places on the coast between Lincoln City and Bandon and in Eugene and soon will be in most places that carry Crossings. When heading for the coast, don’t drive 101 without it.

Current happenings:

The half-hour interview with Dr. Veronica Esagui for the “Author’s Forum” program on public access TV in the Portland Metro area ran June 1-14, 2012, but can be seen on YouTube in two parts: Google Judy Fleagle YouTube.

Upcoming events:

February 9, 9 a.m. –5 p.m., Bridge Tour, Outward Ventures, Florence campus, Lane Community College––I’ll be the tour guide on this trip that includes 12 bridges with many stops from Depoe Bay to Coos Bay and has a lunch break at Tidal Raves in Depoe Bay. Now that the new catalogs are out, sign up at the Florence campus or online. A fee will be involved. This will be such fun; I can hardly wait!

July 27, 3 – 4:30 p.m., Coast Bridges Books PowerPoint Presentation, Eugene Public Library, Eugene––I’ll be giving an updated program that includes both books and more of the bridges as well as some old-timer stories. There will also be time for selling and signing books. No fee is charged to attend.

 

About crossingsauthor

Freelance writer/editor and author of Crossings: McCullough's Coastal Bridges, The Crossings Guide to Oregon's Coastal Spans, and Around Florence. Spent 22 years teaching 1st and 2nd grades and 21 years as editor/staff writer with Oregon Coast and Northwest Travel magazines.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.